early morning thanks

It’s 7:20-ish and I’m at work, in my office.  This has been my routine for the last month and a half.  I have to admit that I like it.  I like the quiet–no one else is on this floor.  A mix of Vivaldi-like music is playing on Pandora; my window is open, letting in the sound of birds waking up, chattering to each other; and, if I didn’t have allergies, I would be able to smell the jasmine in my green tea wafting up.  All of this speaks a certain peace before the busy, sometimes frantic, pace of a teaching day.  In this peace, I am blessed to spend time focusing on spending time with God–through His word, through prayer.

So, today I begin with thankfulness–for the peace here and even more for Jesus, who has brought me to a place of peace with God, who comes close to meet me.

 

Leave a Reply

