Watercolor Turnips

Art is probably not the first concept to pop into your head if I mention turnips, is it?

Over the last month, I’ve been enjoying a new found freedom from a rather demanding job.  One of the ways I’ve been enjoying said freedom has been in trying out new recipes, including those with ingredients that I haven’t cooked with before.  When I chose a recipe for roasted root vegetables, I hadn’t ever cooked with turnips (much less eaten them knowingly). Viva la aventura. Therefore, when I went shopping, I didn’t exactly know where to look for them, and was also somewhat surprised by what I saw when I found the bin labeled “turnips.”  Instead of something brown and prosaic, there were what looked like fishing bobbins that had been watercolored purple rather than painted the traditional red.

1-turnips

 

This is one of the things that I love about creation: that something which grows in the dirt and is rarely seen can have been treated with an artistic wash of color!

One thought on “Watercolor Turnips

Leave a Reply

