Dandelion Crush

2-dandelion pair

Yes, I realize that by the age of seven, a person is expected know that dandelions don’t make it to the canonical flowers list.  Or so I learned when my first grade teacher received the bouquet of dandelions I had picked during recess with the words, “You know these are weeds, right?”

Yes, their old gray heads aren’t very aesthetically pleasing and bring dismay to American gardeners, including my grandfather-in-law, who I’m told snips them off only after having carefully positioned a plastic bag over the fluff to catch the fly-away seeds.

And yet…they are beautiful.  I can’t help enjoying their cheerful yellow (contrasted with olive green in the back), and the tapered petals that radiate from the center.

1-dandelion sunburst

 

Leave a Reply

