Sketch & Color

Starting the day off with time for sketching has been a good thing today.  With the composition class I’m teaching starting next week, along with some pronunciation tutoring on the side, I’m moving into a busier season.  Not terribly busy, but busy enough that it’s been easy to push “non-essential” creative activities to the side.

sketch in progress

However, there’s the lie.  It is this “non-essential” art that ushers in the joy and creativity by which I can rejoice in God and the abilities He’s given for the tasks around me.  So today, I sketched a bit more, thinking only of shapes and lines.  Then I dabbled in color, mixing a bit of a bright green, with ochre, sky blue, and a bit of periwinkle until a green that I was happy with emerged. With Rich Mullins, I am thankful for a God who created the color green, and who sustains it by His love.  With this initial wash of green, I am by no means done, but I’m learning to appreciate the process of slowly bringing a sketch to life with each wash of color and slow attention to detail.

One thought on “Sketch & Color

  1. Indeed God has gifted you, Sofia! Thanks for sharing and thank you for giving our God the glory! May He continue to bless and enrich your life.
    Love
    Dad

Leave a Reply

